Skip to Content

Auckland University of Technology Profile

AUT University is now in its tenth year as a University, but has been a key educational institution in Auckland for 114 years, teaching students since 1895.

A contemporary university with a reputation for industry-relevant programmes and applied research, AUT University has three campuses: its City Campus, North Shore Campus, and the new Manukau campus which will open its doors to students in 2010. 

The student population at AUT University numbers 24,000, making AUT New Zealand’s fourth largest university and one that is still growing.

AUT University is leading research across some of the most dynamic fields including design, rapid prototyping, new media, bioengineering, radio astronomy, business innovation, health science and elite sports. In the latest PBRF rankings AUT's Business School ranked second in the country in the core disciplines of Accounting and Finance.

Signature courses at AUT include the Bachelor of Communication Studies, Bachelor of Health Science, Bachelor of Sport and Recreation, and Bachelor of Business.  The university has five faculties: Business and Law, Health and Environmental Science, Design and Creative Technologies, Applied Humanities, and the country’s only dedicated Maori development faculty, Te Ara Poutama.

AUT University maintains strong and current links with industry. Each faculty has advisory committees with public and private sector professionals to help guide curriculum changes and provide updates on developments in the industry. Industry and research partners include Fonterra, Telecom, Fisher & Paykel Healthcare, Vodafone, ANZ National, AMP, New Zealand Post, the National Heart Foundation, and the Millennium Institute of Sport and Health.

AUT University also has numerous international research partnerships with other research centres such as the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) in Australia, the Department of Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering at the Mayo Clinic in the US, and Japan’s National Institute of Information and Communications Technology.





Last modified: September 3rd, 2009