Skip to Content

University of Canterbury Profile

The University of Canterbury, Te Whare Wänanga o Waitaha, is New Zealand's second oldest university. Established in 1873 as a college of the University of New Zealand, Canterbury College became Canterbury University College in 1933 and the University of Canterbury in October 1957. Full autonomy was granted at the end of 1961.

UC has an impressive profile in research, learning and advanced scholarship. An array of disciplinary and interdisciplinary programmes is located across five Colleges and an independent School of Law, complemented by cross-disciplinary research centres.

The University's teaching programmes represent a heritage of solidly-grounded basic disciplines in the laboratory sciences, commerce, education, engineering, field sciences, forestry, humanities, information and communication technology, law, life sciences, social sciences and visual and performing arts. While reflecting a keenly felt university responsibility for stewardship of knowledge, these generic disciplines are also foundational to the development of specialist teaching and research programmes, particularly in interdisciplinary fields and postgraduate study.




Last modified: April 6th, 2009