Skip to Content

Massey University Profile

Founded in 1927 as Massey Agricultural College and named after former Prime Minister William Ferguson Massey, Massey became a university in 1964.

It has campuses at Albany in Auckland, Manawatu and Wellington. It also has staff based in Hawke's Bay and Taranaki and is the largest New Zealand university provider of distance learning. It jointly owns and operates the New Zealand School of Music with Victoria University of Wellington.

Academics are in five colleges – Business, Creative Arts, Health, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Sciences. 

It has 36,000 students, about half of them distance students and about a quarter postgraduate, more than 3000 staff, assets valued at over $1 billion, including 2000ha of farms used for research and teaching, and total annual revenue of $445 million.

Its strengths are in design, finance, creative arts, veterinary science, agri-food business and agri-food science, biological sciences, health sciences, nursing, Mäori studies, sport and exercise science, fundamental sciences and aviation.




Last modified: June 4th, 2013