Skip to Content

Victoria University of Wellington Profile

Victoria University is located in New Zealand's capital city, Wellington and is more than 100 years old. Once located entirely in the gothic Hunter Building on the Kelburn campus, the University has now spread out into the heart of Wellington city and has four city campuses.

Victoria’s seven faculties are spread across each of these four campuses. The Architecture and Design faculty is based at the Te Aro Campus, the faculties of Law and Commerce are based at the Pipitea Campus on Lambton Quay near Parliament, and the Education Faculty is based at the Karori Campus. The faculties of science, engineering, and humanities and social sciences are based on the Kelburn Campus. 

Each year almost 5,000 new students, both undergraduate and postgraduate, begin their studies at Victoria. The University numbers almost 22,000 students who are taught and supported by nearly 2,000 staff. The University has an eclectic mix of students from all backgrounds with different interests, all of which contributes to the vibrant atmosphere of arts and culture that is Wellington.




Last modified: June 4th, 2013