Skip to Content

Committee on International Policy

The Committee on International Policy considers broad policy and strategy issues around internationalisation of university education. Mr Derek McCormack chairs the Committee on International Policy.  The Committee provides advice to Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara and Government ministries and agencies on matters related to university international policy and strategy. A key role of the Committee is to develop new relationships and strengthen existing relationships with overseas governments and universities by representing, encouraging and supporting New Zealand universities in international relations.

Please contact Universities NZ International Unit should you require more information about the Committee’s international activities. We are happy to act as an initial point of contact for universities and other organisations outside New Zealand that would like to identify New Zealand Universities interested in student or staff exchanges or collaboration for academic or research purposes.


Committee Members: 

Dr Rod Carr (Chair)

 University of Canterbury

Professor Jenny Dixon

 The University of Auckland

Professor Nigel Hemmington 

  Auckland University of Technology

Dr Ed Weymes

  The University of Waikato

Mr Stuart Morriss  

  Massey University 

Dr Mathew O'Meagher

  Victoria University of Wellington

Dr Hamish Cochrane

  University of Canterbury

Ms Annie Goh

  Lincoln University 

Professor Helen Nicholson 

  University of Otago



Sheree Moanaroa

Portfolio Manager - International Education

Last modified: April 4th, 2017