Skip to Content

Research Committee

The Research Committee provides advice to Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara on any issue related to research or research policy in universities. The committee provides a link at national level with other bodies concerned with research, such as Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, the Health Research Council and the Royal Society of New Zealand, which administers the Marsden Fund.

Further functions of the Research Committee are to develop information resources on university research, maintain an overview of university research surveys and requests for statistical information and develop links with research bodies overseas and with other research groupings within New Zealand, such as the Crown Research Institutes and their representative body, Science New Zealand.

The Research Committee is made up of the senior executive from each university with overall responsibility for research policy, either as Deputy Vice-Chancellor or as head of the research office. It is chaired by a Vice-Chancellor, currently ProfessorStuart McCutcheon, Vice-Chancellor, University of Auckland.


Committee Members:

Professor Harlene Hayne (Chair)


University of Otago

Professor Jim Metson


University of Auckland

Professor John Raine


Auckland University of Technology

Professor Bruce Clarkson


University of Waikato

Professor Giselle Byrnes


Massey University

Professor Kate McGrath


Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Ian Wright


University of Canterbury

Professor David Simmons


Lincoln University

Professor Richard Blaikie 


University of Otago



Jonathan Hughes

Deputy Executive Director & Portfolio Manager - Research and Innovation

Last modified: February 15th, 2017