Skip to Content

Scholarships Committee

The Scholarships Committee consists of a Convenor appointed by Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara and eight members, one to be nominated by each university in New Zealand.  The Committee usually meets formally twice a year. 

Scholarship committee members may sit on any number of selection committees for the 40 or so scholarships that Universities NZ administers on behalf of donor organisations.


Committee Members:

Professor Peter Whiteford    


Dr Wayne Smith           

University of Auckland

Dr Andy Godfrey

Auckland University of Technology

Professor Kay Weaver

University of Waikato

Associate Professor Tracy Riley           

Massey University

Dr Mary Jane Shuker

Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Bryce Williamson

University of Canterbury

Professor Charles Brennan

Lincoln University

Professor Jacinta Ruru

University of Otago



For all scholarship enquiries please contact:

Last modified: June 27th, 2017