Skip to Content

Information and Communications Technology Committee

The Information and Communications Technology Committee’s purpose is to act collectively to provide leadership in, and advance the efficient and effective use of ICT to support the universities core purposes of teaching, learning, research and administration.  

The Information and Communications Technology Committee consists of the directors of information technology from each university, who meet to discuss all matters relating to the provision of IT services in the university environment, and strategies for the enhancement of such services.  It also takes an active role in developing national initiatives, such as advanced data networking, and co-ordinates collaborative activities where appropriate.   The committee provides strategic advice and guidance to Universities New Zealand.

The committee maintains contact with counterparts overseas and in particular Australia.  All New Zealand universities are eligible for membership of the Council of Australian University Directors of IT (CAUDIT) and the chair of the Committee is an invited member of CAUDIT’s executive.


Committee Members:

Eion Hall (Chair)


The University of Waikato

John Pye


The University of Auckland

Jason Mangan (w.e.f 3.07.2017)


The University of Auckland

Liz Gosling


Auckland University of Technology

Alistair James


Massey University

Stuart Haselden (Deputy Chair)


Victoria University of Wellington

Andy Keiller


University of Canterbury

Stuart Reilly


Lincoln University

Mike Harte


University of Otago



Annette Beattie

Portfolio Manager Knowledge & Technology



Last modified: June 21st, 2017