Back to top

The Vice-Chancellors

The eight universities, represented by their Vice-Chancellors, make up the membership of Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara. The Vice-Chancellors meet on a formal basis six times a year with the position of Chair rotating every two years.

Test alt

Professor Cheryl de la Rey (Chair)

BA, BA Hons (cum laude), MA cum laude (Natal), PhD (Cape Town)

University of Canterbury

Private Bag 4800, Christchurch 8140

Professor Cheryl de la Rey is Chair of Universities New Zealand for 2023-24.
Test alt

Professor Jan Thomas (Deputy Chair)

BSc, BVSc (Murdoch), MVS (Melbourne), PhD (Murdoch)

Massey University

Private Bag 11222, Palmerston North, Manawatu Mail Centre 4442

Professor Jan Thomas is Deputy Chair of Universities New Zealand for 2023.
Test alt

Professor Damon Salesa

BA, MA (Hons) (Auckland), DPhil (Oxford)

Auckland University of Technology

Private Bag 92006, Auckland 1142

Test alt

Professor Dawn Freshwater

FRCN, PhD (Nottingham)

University of Auckland

Private Bag 92019, Auckland 1142

Test alt

Professor Neil Quigley

BA, MA (Hons) (Canterbury), PhD (Toronto)

University of Waikato

Private Bag 3105, Hamilton, Waikato Mail Centre 3240

Test alt

Professor Nic Smith

BE (Hons) (Auckland), MA (Oxford), PhD (Auckland)

Victoria University of Wellington

PO Box 600, Wellington 6140

Test alt

Professor Grant Edwards

BAgrSci (Hons) (Lincoln), DPhil (Oxford)

Lincoln University

PO Box 85084, Lincoln, 7647

Test alt

Professor David Murdoch

MB ChB, MD (Otago), MSc (London), DTM&H (Liverpool), FRACP, FRCPA, FFSc (RCPA)

University of Otago

PO Box 56, Dunedin 9054